Accreditation at Heritage University

Heritage University is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU). Regional accreditation of postsecondary institutions is a voluntary process of quality assurance and institutional improvement. It qualifies institutions and enrolled students for access to federal funds to support teaching, research, and student financial aid.

The NWCCU Standards for Accreditation support the organization’s mission to accredit institutions of higher education on a seven-year cycle by applying evidence-informed standards and processes to support continuous improvements and promote student achievement and success. The Standards for Accreditation define the quality, effectiveness, and continuous improvements expected of accredited institutions. The Standards serve as indicators by which institutions are evaluated by peers through a process of self-reflection and evaluation that blends analysis and synthesis into a holistic examination of the institution’s ability to fulfill its unique mission, deliver quality education, and promote student achievement.

Standard One: Student Success and Institutional Mission and Effectiveness
Standard Two: Governance, Resources, and Capacity

Heritage College began granting academic credit on July 1, 1982, as successor to Fort Wright College of the Holy Names in Spokane, Washington, which closed on June 30, 1982. In 2004, Heritage College was designated Heritage University. Heritage College received accreditation June 16, 1986, retroactive to September 1, 1985. Accreditation was most recently reaffirmed in 2019. The next self-study mid-cycle report is due March 2022.

In addition to regional accreditation, separate programs at Heritage are accredited as follows:

Medical Laboratory Science: The MLS program at Heritage is accredited by the National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Lab Sciences (NAACLS). Accreditation was confirmed in April 2018 for 10 years.

 Education: State of Washington approval through the Professional Education Standards Board (PESB) has been granted to the following education programs: Residency Teacher; and Residency Principal/Program Administrator. Accreditation is reaffirmed annually.

 Nursing: The baccalaureate degree program in nursing at Heritage University is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, 655 K Street, NW, Suite 750, Washington, DC 20001, 202-887-6791. The program was accredited in January 2018 for 5 years. It is also approved by the Washington State Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission.

Physician Assistant: At its September 2018 meeting, the Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant, Inc. (ARC-PA) extended Accreditation-Probation status for the Heritage University Physician Assistant Program sponsored by Heritage University until its next review in September 2020. Probation is a temporary status of accreditation conferred when a program does not meet the Standards and when the capability of the program to provide an acceptable educational experience for its students is threatened. Once placed on probation, programs that still fail to comply with accreditation requirements in a timely manner, as specified by the ARC-PA, may be scheduled for a focused site visit and/or risk having their accreditation withdrawn. Specific questions regarding the Program and its plans should be directed to the Program Director and/or the appropriate institutional official(s).

 Social Work: The Bachelor of Social Work (B.S.W.) degree is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) effective with the class of 1997. The program was re-accredited in 2010.

Email us at with questions.

Contact Us

Accreditation and Quality Improvement
3240 Fort Road
Toppenish, WA 98948

Phone: (509) 865-8599